The Golden Mics: soon to be the Oscars of Podcasting?

Red carpet, champagne and photocall… tuxedos, evening gowns and moving speeches… Any self-respecting media universe must have its own academy and… awards ceremony to go with it.

The podcasting world will soon be no exception to the rule with the creation of the “Golden Mics”, the first edition of which will take place in 2021 in Los Angeles, as indicated on the website.

The founding members of The Podcast Academy are Donald Albright (Tenderfoot TV), Erik Diehn (Stitcher), Anya Grundman (NPR), Kerri Hoffman (PRX), Courtney Holt (Spotify), Hernan Lopez (Wondery), Christy Mirabal (Sony Music), Rekha Murthy (Independent), Lauren Spohrer (Criminal), and Alia Tavakolian (Spoke Media). 

And candidates for new members will be considered next spring for nominations to be announced in mid-September.

To be followed carefully in a universe still under construction and knowing that iHeartRadio already organizes the iHeartRadio Podcast Awards, also scheduled in Los Angeles at the beginning of 2021…